Thursday, October 27, 2011

Book Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

If I Stay by Gayle Forman
Hardcover, 208 pages
Genre: YA Fiction
Borrowed from NYPL Mid-Manhattan Branch
In a single moment, everything changes. Seventeen year- old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall riding along the snow-wet Oregon road with her family. Then, in a blink, she fi nds herself watching as her own damaged body is taken from the wreck...


A sophisticated, layered, and heartachingly beautiful story about the power of family and friends, the choices we all make - and the ultimate choice Mia commands. (taken from Amazon.com)

What a fantastic novel.

The Good News:
From start to finish I was absolutely hooked. The language was simple but didn't take away from the immensity of the event. It's told through flashbacks that weave the characters and the story together perfectly.I cared about Mia and her family almost immediately, which I found to be brilliant on Forman's part since it can be difficult to make readers become invested in characters so quickly.

Another thing I loved was that Mia is a classical musican! One of my favorite flashbacks is when she found that classical instruments don't have to be thought of in a stuffy sort of way. Her friend suggests she listens to Nirvana's Something in the Way...one of my favs. The chorus' swelling vocal line infuses a passionate cello underscore.

The Bad News:
What bad news? This book is awesome. I guess the only bad news I have is that I'm not too keen on reading the sequel. I'd like the story to stay with me the way it is.

Bottom Line:
If I Stay is hauntingly beautiful, thought provoking and bittersweet. Recommended for fans of YA novels and General Fiction alike.

Check out Gayle Forman's site.
Check out the stellar If I stay playlist.

2 comments:

  1. I absolutely loved If I Stay and have to say that I loved Where She Went just as much. I love that it was told from Adam's perspective. Do read it - I don't think you will regret it!

    ReplyDelete
  2. OKay cool!! I will take your word and check it out :)

    ReplyDelete

I appreciate your comments!